Quirks of Malaysian drivers at tollbooth

If you have been on Malaysian road as often as I do, this would sound familiar…..The continuous flashing of the car lights?. This irate driver accelerated as he approached the tollbooth behind me while I like every conscientious driver was doing just the opposite –slowing down. What is it with these guys? If they are not flashing their lights, they are flashing their….”little brother”. We ladies flashed if we have nice things to show off. Like we flashed our 24k diamonds on our little middle finger, our super ACURA RSX 2006 on the road, our36-24-36 statitics.

They do the same at traffic lights. You could be following a driver who drives like he owns the whole road or behaving as though he’s on a sight seeing tour of our beautiful highways. I could walk faster than he drives. See!See! as soon as he spot a traffic light turning yellow, swoosh…. he changes from a saint to a hell-rider to beat the red light.

If you are forced to choose between life and death, that required immediate action. But definitely not this lorry driver. He makes a snap decision to change lane, cutting in front of me without warning, forcing me to apply my emergency break. Why? Just because of a pretty face in the tollbooth. As he rolled down the glass window and poke out his head, he is all nice and smiley putting on his gentleman manners exchanging pleasantries as though he just found his long lost girlfriend! Hey, this is no place to make a date.

One weekend while returning to Klang from Seremban , this tanker driver drove thro’ a no-entry lane for payment and got stuck between two toll-booths. Fortunately the tollbooth operator escaped in the nick of time before one of the booth came toppling down. So we got stuck in a long jam while highway operators ran helter skelter searching for fire extinguishers in the event fire break out.

About moviemania

Mission work in Kuching, Sarawak & Climbed Bako National Park, seen the largest proboscis Climbed the Great Wall of China & serenaded by Ku Nian along Yangtze River Sailed the River Nile Walked in the footsteps of Jesus, crossed River Jordan into Israel, the Holy Lands Mission work in Talugtug, Philippines Mission work in Toowoomba, Queensland Mission work in Kalaymyo, Myanmar
This entry was posted in Travellers' tales. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Quirks of Malaysian drivers at tollbooth

  1. Judy Leese says:

    I stopped hiring a car to drive in Malaysia since 1988. I couldn’t relax while driving and people were honking at me for giving way to others…..I thought I was going to be bashed up. Since then, need to travel, taxis and trains. I think there are no drivers in the world like Malaysian drivers! 😛

  2. Yee, Julie says:

    Ya,ya, I agree. Must apologise for our drivers. How often do you come over?
    I like your DR VE THRU. I caught this sign with the “I” intact, along our highway.
    You got my attention!

  3. Judy Leese says:

    Julie, I visit everyday but long time no post from you. Take care……

  4. Yee,Julie says:

    Hi Judy
    Thank you for your encouragment. My only elder brother just passed away and we buried him last Sat. He was just 54. He lived such a life, so many aspect of his life I didnt know. These past 4 days when many of his friends came to pay respect, crying openly with so much good to tell, I know my brother a lot more.
    So my blog took a break!

  5. Judy Leese says:

    Julie, my deepest condolences. It is never easy to lose someone you love.
    I lost one of my brothers (2 years younger than me) when he was 36 from diabetes. I was actually at a International Ladies Bible College when my husband rang the church with the news.
    That day’s lesson was based Paul’s teaching to the Thessalonicans, “Brothers, we do not want you to be ignorant about those who fall asleep, or to grieve like the rest of men, who have no hope” (1 Thessalonians 4:13).
    That was so timely for me. Though I was sad but at the same time that my brother no longer had to suffer the pain on earth and was going to a better place.

  6. wonda says:

    Hi Jullie,
    Iam Alice . Bloghopped from Judy’s blog and through her link, found you. My late dad suffered from thyroid cancer and was still under observation after his radiotherpy. As if this was not enough, he was knocked down by a Malaysian driver who had just got her driving licence. He cracked his tailbone and had surgery to replace it with a metal one. He didn’t claim for compensation from the driver because she was the daughter of the coffee shop owner whom he knew. I don’t think they knew about the accident. either. But God is gracious and merciful to heal my dad who was a Christian at an elderly age. God touched his heart through my mom’s Christian funeral. Instead of cancer which we all feared, he died of diabetes and stroke in a coma. No pain or suffering. Yes, I am scared and stressed by the traffic every time I go back to Malaysia. God bless and looking forward to your next post. Keep it up!

  7. Yee, Julie says:

    Thanks Wonda for stopping by and those words of encouragement. If you read my latest blog, i am about to “hang up my boots”. But between you and Judy, my spirit is lifted! I shall try to keep it going. Can I add you to my blogs?

  8. wonda says:

    Sure, Julie. Please add me to your links. Please drop by too. I always welcome comments but not from ads. of course. You are about to hang up our boots? Last time, I was about to hang up my hats until I bumped into Judy and then Kak Teh dropped by. They have been very supportive. Glad to meet another sister in Christ, besides Judy.

Leave a Reply

