Sa-wat dee

Expected to be met with “Sa-wat dee” upon my arrival at Chiangmai airport, I got only a firm handshake! So much for brushing up my Thai. Great places, cheap and good food and shopping? no need to say-lah. For those who intend to travel further north of Chiangmai, go and rent a car. For 1000 baht a day, you get a very comfortable car, 2000 baht for a 9-seater van with a driver who will take you wherever you want to go. Petrol is on you. Its really worth it. Just to travel in Malaysia your toll will costs you more than that. Oh, there is no communication problem – what they cant understand – try hand, head and body signs. It will definitely do the trick. To bargain, the seller punched his price on his calculator, you punched yours. No need to talk. When you order your food from the stalls, dont just point this,point that. You could be asking “What is that?”, to them it means “I want this one, this one and this one”. All three plates will be served on you at the night bazaar. after the long walk, time to put up your feet. This Thai massage supposed to close at 10.00 p.m but look at the brisk business..in quick succession.

this picture taken at night bazaar. good place to put up your tired feet. Supposed to close at 10.00 p.m but look at the crowd..business is good!

About moviemania

Mission work in Kuching, Sarawak & Climbed Bako National Park, seen the largest proboscis Climbed the Great Wall of China & serenaded by Ku Nian along Yangtze River Sailed the River Nile Walked in the footsteps of Jesus, crossed River Jordan into Israel, the Holy Lands Mission work in Talugtug, Philippines Mission work in Toowoomba, Queensland Mission work in Kalaymyo, Myanmar
This entry was posted in Travellers' tales. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sa-wat dee

  1. Alice says:

    Julie, welcome back! Good to hear your travel stories. Went with my son to Bangkok & Pattaya in July. Enjoyed the trip, the friendly people on the same bus tour and we ate crocodile meat too. I suppose you are not in the photo again.

  2. Judy Leese says:

    Sabai dee mai. Makes me laugh, all these people must be so tired from shopping that they are willing to pay more to have their feet and body massaged. The Thais are very enterprising. You make me wanna go Chiangmai (never been there). Been to Bangkok though. Who shook your hand? Why should you expect to be greeted by ‘Sa-wat dee’? Eh, next time, take me with you ok? :))

  3. Yee, Julie says:

    Alice, khorb koon. Like i say, difficult to put in more than one picture. Mine has to give way to others…or I am camera shy hahaha!
    Judy, sabai dee. Either I am a good narrator or what, suddenly after hearing my quirks, many of my friends whao want to go visit Chiangmai. You too? I want to change career – be a tour guide. I tell you more why I expected to be greeted in my blog. I have not finish with my traveller’s quirks yet!

  4. FireHorse says:

    Good you’re back, glad to hear that your holiday went well. I have always wanted to go to Thailand but never had a chance to.

  5. Yee, Julie says:

    Hi firehorse, thanks. You should go. I heard when you are in bangkok, you are always in a traffic jam. better go to Chiang Mai. I let u know where to get cheap and good stay with plenty to eat, cheap cheap too. Great experience esp. with sua tao like us. Got more funny tales to tell.

  6. wonda says:

    Aiya, Julie, quick tell. Want to share the laughter too lah.

Leave a Reply

