A Messenger of death

The edges of the pages had turned brownish and the book looks like it has seen better days. This is the condition of Elizabeth de Guise’s book on “The Flight of the Dragonfly”, first published in 1990 by the Grafton Books when I lay my hands on it at my friend’s place.

Set in London in 1857, Trudie cannot stand her Reverend father’s holier- than-thou attitude and a mum who has been reduced to a jelly state taking her marriage vows literally “Wives submit to your husbands”.  So when Jeremy Maddock, her brother’s friend came by one day with talks of his exciting plan to open an Emporium in Regent street , she fell headlong for him and his grand ideas. Marriage is her ultimate solution out of an unhappy home environment. Anything is better than under the strict and rigid ways of her father, Jonathan Grant.

The author,Elizabeth brings us a story not only of romance, but about a young innocent girl whose courage to cross the unknown borders to seek her own destiny makes the book so special. The story takes us from her dull life in London to the East in a plantation somewhere in Malacca where workers are mostly immigrants, cholera is rampant and where European women are considered “foreign devil” or yang kwei. She made that long and arduous journey alone to his plantation in Malacca and to be left destitute upon arrival due to his sudden death with cholera. It is here she learnt the ugly truth about her mysterious husband she married in haste back home. But like every novel, there is a Prince charming coming to the rescue. This is in the form of a Welsh miner, whom she mistaken for her husband’s koolie (worker), where she refused to let him brow-beat her into admitting defeat. The story is about her courage to seek a better life despite the odds and the determination to make a success of it. But it is not the romance that captured my interests. I am sure you all are dying to know the ending……next chaptere

p/s. My year end 2006 sunday school musical has been defered due to poor uploading.

About moviemania

Mission work in Kuching, Sarawak & Climbed Bako National Park, seen the largest proboscis Climbed the Great Wall of China & serenaded by Ku Nian along Yangtze River Sailed the River Nile Walked in the footsteps of Jesus, crossed River Jordan into Israel, the Holy Lands Mission work in Talugtug, Philippines Mission work in Toowoomba, Queensland Mission work in Kalaymyo, Myanmar
This entry was posted in Recent Reads. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to A Messenger of death

  1. Firehorse says:

    Sounds like a good book, I have just finished reading Rani Machika’s Touching Earth and am half way thru “1,000 years of good prayers”. Will definitely look this book up. Thanks.

  2. Judy Leese says:

    Julie, this book sounds interesting….I think I will try and get it here. Must note the title and writer.
    Hey, hope over to Alice’s blog on Lydia’s Honk, I left a message for Vern cos she suggested you can get book for her…. 🙂

  3. Vern says:

    heya, mind if I link your blog to mine?

  4. wonda says:

    Julie,
    Wah, you pandai keep me in suspense ah. You read the book and then read it to me on your blog, ok? That is speed reading for me. You know how you or I can enlarge the print on your post and comment? A little too strenous for me. Now I see your comments on many bloggers’ posts. Keep it up! Never mind if you don’t update often; we’ll still comment even though it’s an old post.

  5. moviemania says:

    Judy, did as you say. Wonda and I got this problem of small print ion our blog and those moving pictures of yours. Share share lah….
    Vern, of course you are most welcome. can I reciprocate?
    wonda, should I continue the story since Judy wants to buy.?Might spoil her suspense.

  6. Vern says:

    The honour’s all mine. 🙂

  7. Judy Leese says:

    Julie, share share what lei? Moving pictures ah? I actually got them from the same place as FH. Later I go and find out which website and come back to give you ok? It is easy, pick the pictures you want and copy and paste html onto your blog.
    Don’t worry about me. Continue with the story for others as I can still read. 🙂

  8. ilene ong says:

    Julie,
    Here you’re talking about “The Flight of the Dragonfly” and there this Judy “char bor” swish swash dragonflies, amongst other insects! What a coincidence! 🙂

  9. moviemania says:

    ilene, can i add you to my blog? Better read my comments on her blog. Mm chai si.

  10. Firehorse says:

    Thanks for your suggestion, you always have very good ideas. Your picture look very pretty lah but must use magnifying glass to see,

  11. ilene ong says:

    Julie,
    Please, please link me. Aiyo, I very happy wan when people link me. I feel like I so famous! *grin* *smile*

  12. Vern says:

    Maam! I’m in KL NOW! Today and tomolo. Let’s go yam cha! 😀

  13. wonda says:

    Where is my story?

  14. Alice says:

    Go over to Judy’s blog quick. She is sooooooo sad!

  15. wonda says:

    Julie,
    If you see my comments on Judy’s blog (Be Yourself) about you, I am only kidding. Don’t take to heart, ya! We all just like to fool around and kill mosquitoes lor!

  16. moviemania says:

    i am sure you are all dying for THE END of my story. its great to test your patience, joke eh… Actually v.busy. hey, sometimes i do submit articles to Star n get published too.
    wonda, wah! i not so sensitive. the older, the skin like elephant. yes, i did hop over to Judy and to some of your blog but no time to leave reply …its 8.30 in the office lor. dont curi office time.

  17. yee,julie says:

    vern, wants to yam char, pl. email me lor. for my phone no. how to find without contact no.? klang very big …

  18. wonda says:

    Julie,
    Thanks for being understanding. Eh, can get money for the articles published or not? My student is quitting one by one cos they are going to graduate from their Uni. Hard to find new students nowadays. If can get money, then can you tell me where to submit and what articles they want? But first have to sharpen my MCC mind, polish it and wax it. Writing blog is cin cin cai cai and some more speak and hear too much Jap. makes my otak rojak. Can email me about it or not. Appreciated it.

Leave a Reply

