Lost in Tambun, Sipping Tea in Cameron

Lost World of Tambun,Ipoh
Lost World of Tambun,Ipoh

No matter how many times I told myself I hate those long and winding roads but each time my company organizes a trip there or my sister-in-laws say, “JOM, Cameron Highlands? I’ll be the first to grab an overnight bag and jumped in. 
Is it the fresh air and mystical mountains, sipping hot tea  or the night market stalls with its mile long yummy food and fresh produce from the farm? I just love Cameron Highlands.

In July during our company’s trip, we made a short stop at Lost World of Tambun via the Ipoh,Sg. Siput toll, if you are taking the NKVE expressway, before we headed for the cool mountains in the later afternoon.  Akin to Sunway Lagoon Theme park, Selangor,  we were lost for words. Besides screaming our heads off with the rides, the indoor free train gave us a good view of the parks and its surroundings.

 

hotel cum apartment, overlooking the Cactus farm with night market just across the rooad

hotel cum apartment, overlooking the Cactus farm with night market just across the rooad

With the newly completed  Simpang Pulai exit where the road was  less winding, it took us only another two hours to reach our hotel cum apartment in Brinchang. The rain had just stopped, casting a thick mist over the mountains and a night market business in full swing. We couldnt wait to don our sweaters and jackets and had a great time bargaining for farm produce and eating delcious finger-licking food.

Bird's eye view of Brinchang town
Bird’s eye view of Brinchang town

The next day, besides the cactus farm, we visited morning market and the bee farm and came away with some really good, pure honey. Take a tablespoon of pure honey, add some warm water and squeeze in some lime juice. It’s my mother’s  traditional cure for sore throat. It works wonders. Heading down home, we stopped at Tanah Rata, sipping hot tea with scones and watched some of our colleagues walked the tea trail .   Cactus farm with self-picking of strawberries n greens  

Cactus farm with self-picking of strawberries n greens
a good place to relax after a tiring walk

a good place to relax after a tiring walk

Sipping tea, overlooking the tea bushes

Sipping tea, overlooking the tea bushes

rows and rows of lushes tea bushes

rows and rows of lushes tea bushes

 

  

 

 

About moviemania

Mission work in Kuching, Sarawak & Climbed Bako National Park, seen the largest proboscis Climbed the Great Wall of China & serenaded by Ku Nian along Yangtze River Sailed the River Nile Walked in the footsteps of Jesus, crossed River Jordan into Israel, the Holy Lands Mission work in Talugtug, Philippines Mission work in Toowoomba, Queensland Mission work in Kalaymyo, Myanmar
This entry was posted in Travellers' tales. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Lost in Tambun, Sipping Tea in Cameron

  1. You were in Tambun?? That’s near to my uni! Aiyah, why didn’t tell me you were kambing?? 😛

  2. ag says:

    Hmm… should have gone to Tambun and Cameron Highlands instead of Perak Cave.

  3. moviemania says:

    Kooky, tks for dropping by. I thot I have lost touch with my blogger friends. Glad u are back and with a nicer blog. I just hopped over. I love ur dashboard. Teach me lah.

    AG, ya. I wanted to invite u to join my company trip but u were due to fly home. next time……..

  4. ag says:

    Hey pal, don’t get lost again. Next post ya! Thanks for sharing the pictures.

  5. moviemania says:

    Hi Ag, Glad to share so you dont get lost like me….

  6. ilene says:

    Ahhh..what a familiar site! Yep, my family too loves the cool air up there but of late sadly the air is no longer as cool as it used to be.

    I should have taken mum up in my recent trip up there. *sigh* 😦

  7. moviemania says:

    hi Ilene, glad u drop by.
    Your late mum was a great person, always cheerful, lively with a positive outlook. I know you and Abby have done your best as daughters and its time to move forward without regrets.

  8. Pingback: 2010 in review | the way I see it: quirks of life’s journey

Leave a Reply

